Random thoughts

June 2, 2006

Passion in politics

Filed under: Uncategorized — by laurenvw @ 2:27 pm

When did the passion leave politics?  When did we start voting against somebody rather than for somebody?  The passion is what makes democracy work.  Is it gone?  Have we killed it through cynicism and complacency?  I don't think so.  It's still there, lurking deep in the hearts of Americans.  All you need to do is read the blogs of American Idol fans to know that the passion still exists.  Whether they were rooting for Taylor or Katherine, Chris or Elliott, the AI fans were truly fans.  They voted because they were certain their person was the BEST.  Not better than, the best.  How many people can say that about their political votes?  I have to admit, I can't.

I am 27 years old, and have voted in 3 presidential elections.  And in all three, when at the poll, I shrugged and thought better this guy than that one.  I don't want to go into the poll in 2008 and do that again.  I don't want to vote merely because one is a woman, or because one is black.  I want to believe in the candidate I vote for.  I want to know that this person I am voting for will stand up for what is right, will work to his/her utmost ability to better the lives of Americans and everyone else in the world.  I want them to believe that it's not about the power OVER people, it's about the power to HELP people.

I used to believe that all the people who would do really well in the office are probably already CEOs and making tons of money doing so.  But I'm no longer sure that's right.  I think the type of person we need is the head of a non-profit agency, doing everything they can to better the world.  Because they ARE out there.  Those running the country just aren't looking for them.

Maybe, some day, passion will enter politics.  And when it does, that's when we'll really be able to change the world, make it a better place, and become a true world leader.

Idealistic?  Maybe.  Unrealistic?  Hopefully not.  But our country started as an unrealistic and idealistic idea.  We've just lost sight of what it is that makes democracy really work – the passion of the people and those representing them.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

